Project 52 week 16: Macro

I recently bought the Sony 30mm macro lens for my NEX5 and haven’t really had much of a chance to use it. This week is my first real attempt at taking some macro shots and I feel that I have learnt a lot in quite a short time. The lens has 1:1 magnification but the focussing distance for that is extremely short (about 1 inch in front of the lens). What I didn’t realise but very soon found out is that for many shots at that distance you get shadows from the camera across the subject and it really spoils the shot. I am not sure if would even be able to get that close to insects etc (which seem to be popular subjects for macro photography) without them being scared off and moving away. It was a real lesson and I kind of wish Sony had produced a macro lens of say 50mm or more.

Also, taking photos of plants and getting great focus turned out to be really challenging with the combination of hand-held and just enough wind to ensure they never kept still.

My other lesson was the incredibly small depth of field at these distances and the challenges that poses for getting a really pleasing image with all the parts of it that you want in focus.

Anyway, here’s a sample of my first real efforts at this type of photography.

Cheers.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh yes, the wind! And if you shorten the shutter speed to try to account for the breeze, then the challenge of getting enough light …

    Reply
  1. Project 52 week 20: the crop factor | Jerry at wordpress

Leave a Reply

